Through My Window

There is not a cloud in the sky on this fine autumn day. The soft, gentle breeze barely rustles the leaves on the willows and aspens in the yard. The sun is shining down through my window, and my tiny cream-colored chihuahua basks in its warmth. Outside my window is the dog yard where four dogs enjoy their day playing in the sun. Currently, Loki, an adorable pit bull, is lying on the deck basking in the warm rays of the sun. Delilah, the stunning black Dalmatian, is grazing on the long strands of fresh grass that line the edge of the wood fence. Sampson, a gorgeous chocolate lab, relaxes in the shade under a beautiful willow. Then there is B.J., the mini beagle (his name stands for Buddy Jr.).  Little B.J. is not in sight, for he hides under the deck to keep cool during the hottest part of the day, only coming out to come inside, eat, drink, or when the shade makes this precious little angel get a bit too cool.

In the distance I see an endless circle of mountains forming a circular shape around the land. These mountains are absolutely breath-taking. The blue hue of the mountains create what would make an extraordinary photograph. These mountains are a blessing to be able to look at on a daily basis, and they really make me appreciate God’s wonderful creation. 

These mountains I have the privilege of seeing every day also play a huge roll in my life. I have countless memories in the mountains. From the hundreds of days I spent camping, hiking, hunting, horseback riding, snowboarding, fishing, picnicking, four-wheeling, and just driving around, the mountains is where I love to be. some of my favorite memories take place on my favorite mountains. I love the days I can go on a long ride up the mountains and enjoy their beauty while discovering new trails I could explore. In August of 2011, my family and I spent a day hiking to the very top of  Mt. Lamborn (with an elevation of 11,402 ft) to sign our names in the guest book that rests on the highest point of the mountain.

Everything I see out my window can be summed up to a beautiful scene of God’s magnificent creation.

Leave a Reply

